Just another WordPress.com site

Lots of music

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, well at least that’s my excuse for why it is 10 days since my last post!

I’ve played in Verdi’s Requiem and I thought how great it would be to perform it in Berwang. It didn’t take me long, however, to realise that this was one of my dafter ideas. The church in Berwang may be beautiful, but it isn’t big – the prospect of the trombone slides bowing the violas and the tuba player sitting pixie-like on top of the only double bass we could fit in, is not a prospect I really wish to inflict on other people. We do perform a choral work with orchestra in the church on the middle weekend of the course, but for a smaller choir and orchestra. In recent years this has included works such as  Mozart – Coronation Mass, Schubert – Mass in F and Michael Haydn – St Hieronymi.

More to follow later – got to go out now – told you life was hectic

Jean

Leave a Reply

